Research & Development

All of our innovative, natural solutions for healthier animals are the result of intensive research and development work. With our own research and product management team, we develop new ideas and concepts, sometimes in cooperation with international universities and research centers, always based on natural active ingredients.
In our interdisciplinary innovation team, our experts lay the foundation for all new developments. With a wide variety of backgrounds - from agricultural scientists to business economists, from molecular biologists to veterinarians - we incorporate the broadest possible knowledge from market observation, customer discussions and our own considerations into the product concepts right from the start.

Innovation Center

In our in-house innovation center, we can test the properties of new active ingredients and produce test mixtures for new products. Physical and chemical properties of new formulations are optimized here. The manufacturing processes are developed and simulated on a laboratory scale. Only when the optimal process steps and parameters have been defined is it scaled up to the large-scale systems in our factory.
In cooperation with accredited laboratories and research institutions, new products are put through their paces in both scientific studies and practical trials before we launch them on the market. The focus is on the safety of the target animal, humans and the environment as well as the effectiveness on the health and performance of the animals.

 

 

And the award goes to...

 

Our innovations and our research and development work has already received several awards, e.g

Here are some examples of our research and development work:

DOSTO Ruminant bi-active
Project description: Development of a product for adult ruminants (cattle, goats, sheep) to ensure the release of essential oregano oil in the rumen and small intestine/large intestine. For this purpose, a combination preparation was developed which releases oregano in the rumen and can thus unfold its microflora-modulating and performance-enhancing effect, and can also pass through the rumen protected from the rumen and has its digestive and health-promoting effect there, similar to monogastric animals (poultry, pigs).

The product was tested with regard to its release kinetics in rumen fistulated cows. In order to determine the exact ratio of the components and its optimal dosage, its performance, digestive and health-promoting effects were determined in several dose-effect tests. The final product is designed as a premix for feed mills and compound feed mills and as a feed supplement for direct use on farms. DOSTO Ruminant bi-active has been nominated for the Innovation Award EuroTier 2022.  

PHYTOsolvan 4Green - supplementary feed for organic feed to support the respiratory tract

The aim of the development is to expand the PHYTOsolvan product line to support the respiratory functions in livestock. A product that can also be used in organic farming. The condition for this is the use of purely natural active ingredients that are approved for organic farming. This applies not only to organically certified active ingredients, but also to suitable carrier materials with the appropriate certification. The development work consists of finding compatible plant active ingredients and carriers that simultaneously enable sufficient active ingredient absorption and process stability as supplementary feed for livestock. The same effectiveness and stability as for the already established PHYTOsolvan product line should be guaranteed.  

Liquid water-soluble supplementary feed with a natural emulsifier

Existing emulsion systems rely almost exclusively on emulsifiers that are not of natural origin or are of natural origin but are chemically modified in order to achieve advantageous product properties. However, this excludes them for use in organic farming or as parts of organic products. Natural emulsifiers of plant origin are rare, and in the feed sector only a few of these emulsifiers have organic approval or approval as suitable for organic farming. While conventional, chemically modified emulsifiers have been optimized for properties such as low energy input in the form of shear forces and temperature, natural emulsifiers generally do not have these preferred properties. The aim of the development is therefore to fall back on the few available resources of natural emulsifiers and to realize their properties through suitable combinations and processing methods with the existing technical possibilities on site. The selection of raw materials of sufficient quality is already important here, which is the basic prerequisite for the production of stable, sufficiently low-viscosity emulsions with a homogeneously distributed particle size below the micrometer range, which can absorb a sufficient quantity of lipophilic and hydrophilic active substance combinations.

Forschung & Entwicklung

Alle unsere innovativen, natürlichen Lösungen für gesündere Tiere sind das Ergebnis intensiver Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit. Mit unserem eigenen Forschungs- und Produktmanagement-Team entwickeln wir, teilweise auch in Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Hochschule und Forschungszentren, neue Ideen und Konzepte, immer auf Basis natürlicher Wirkstoffe.
In unserem interdisziplinär besetzten Innovations-Team legen unsere Experten mit den Grundstein für alle neuen Entwicklungen. Mit unterschiedlichsten Hintergründen – vom Agrarwissenschaftler bis zum Betriebswirt, vom Molekularbiologen bis zum Veterinärmediziner – bringen wir von Anfang an möglichst breite Erkenntnisse aus Marktbeobachtung, Kundengesprächen und eigenen Überlegungen in die Produktkonzeptionen ein.

Technikum

Im hauseigenen Technikum können wir neue Wirkstoffe auf ihre Eigenschaften prüfen und Testmischungen für neue Produkte herstellen. Physikalische und chemische Eigenschaften neuer Rezepturen werden hier optimiert. Im Labormaßstab werden die Herstellungsprozesse entwickelt und simuliert. Erst wenn die optimalen Prozessschritte und Parameter definiert sind, erfolgt die Hochskalierung auf die Großanlagen in unserem Werk.
In Zusammenarbeit mit akkreditierten Laboren und Forschungseinrichtungen werden neue Produkte in sowohl wissenschaftlichen Studien als auch in Praxisversuchen auf Herz und Nieren getestet, bevor wir sie am Markt einführen. Dabei stehen sowohl die Sicherheit für Zieltier, Mensch und Umwelt im Fokus als auch die Wirksamkeit auf Gesundheit und Leistungsfähigkeit der Tiere.

 

 

Wir sind ausgezeichnet!

 

Unsere Innovationen und unsere Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit ist bereits mehrfach ausgezeichnet worden, z.B.

Hier sind einige Beispiele unserer Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeit:

DOSTO Ruminant bi-active
Projektbeschreibung: Entwicklung eines Produktes für ausgewachsene Wiederkäuer (Rinder, Ziegen, Schafe), um die Freisetzung von ätherischem Oreganoöl in Pansen und Dünndarm/Dickdarm zu gewährleisten. Hierzu wurde ein Kombinationspräparat entwickelt, welches Oregano sowohl im Pansen freisetzt und dadurch seine mikrofloramodulierende und leistungssteigernde Wirkung entfalten kann, als auch pansengeschützt den Pansen passieren kann und dort seine verdauungs- und gesundheitsfördernde Wirkung hat, ähnlich zu Monogastriern (Geflügel, Schwein).

Das Produkt wurde bezüglich seiner Freisetzungskinetiken in pansenfistulierten Kühen erprobt.  Um das genaue Verhältnis der Komponenten und dessen optimale Dosierung zu ermitteln, wurden dessen leistungs-, verdauungs- und gesundheitsfördernde Wirkung in mehreren Dosis-Wirkungsversuchen ermittelt. Das Endprodukt wird als Vormischung für Futtermühlen und Mischfutterwerke konzipiert und als Ergänzungsfuttermittel für die direkte Anwendung auf Betrieben. DOSTO Ruminant bi-active wurde für den Innovation Award EuroTier 2022 nominiert.  

PHYTOsolvan 4Green – Ergänzungsfuttermittel für Öko-Futter zur Unterstützung der Atemwege

Ziel der Entwicklung ist Erweiterung der Produktlinie PHYTOsolvan zur Unterstützung der Atemwegsfunktionen bei Nutztieren. Um ein Produkt das auch im ökologischen Landbau eingesetzt werden kann. Bedingung dafür ist die Verwendung ausschließlich rein  natürlicher Wirkstoffen, die für ökologischen Landbau zugelassen sind. Diese betrifft nicht nur bio-zertifizierte Wirkstoffe, sondern auch geeignete Trägermaterialien mit entsprechender Zertifizierung. Die Entwicklungsarbeit besteht darin, kompatible Pflanzenwirkstoffe und Träger zu finden, die gleichzeitig eine ausreichende Wirkstoffaufnahme und Prozessstabilität als Ergänzungsfuttermittel im Nutztierbereich ermöglichen. Es soll hierbei die gleiche Wirksamkeit und Stabilität wie für die bereits etablierte Produktlinie PHYTOsolvan gewährleistet sein.  

Flüssige wasserlösliche Ergänzungsfuttermittel mit einem natürlichen Emulgator

Bestehende Emulsionssystem greifen nahezu ausschließlich auf Emulgatoren zurück, die nicht natürlichen Ursprungs sind oder natürlichen Ursprungs, aber chemisch modifioziert sind, um vorteilhafte Produkteigenschaften zu erreichen. Damit sind Sie jedoch für die Anwendung im ökologischen Landbau oder als Teile von Bioprodukten ausgeschlossen. Natürliche Emulgatoren pflanzlichen Ursprunges sind rar, und im Futtermittelbereich besitzen nur wenige dieser Emulgatoren eine Bio-Zulassung oder eine Zulassung als geeignet für den ökologischen Landbau. Während konventionelle, chemisch modfizierte Emulgatoren auf Eigenschaften wie geringen Energieeintrag in Form von Scherkräften und Temperatur optimiert wurden, besitzen natürliche Emulgatoren diese bevorzugten Eigenschaften in der Regel nicht. Ziel der Entwicklung ist es deshalb, auf die wenig verfügbaren Ressourcen an natürlichen Emulgatoren zurückzugreifen und deren Eigenschaften durch geeignete Kombinationen und Prozessverfahren mit den vorhandenen technischen Möglichkeiten vor Ort zu realisieren. Wichtig ist hierbei bereits die Rohstoffauswahl in ausreichender Qualität, die Grundvoraussetzung zur Herstellung stabiler, ausreichend gering visköser Emulsionen mit homogen verteilter Teilchengröße unterhalb des Mikrometerbereiches ist, die eine ausreichende Menge an lipophilen und hydrophilen Wirkstoffkombinationen aufnehmen kann.